2016 New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships for postgraduate study (Masters and PhD) in New Zealand

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) is an international programme under which member governments offer scholarships and fellowships to citizens of other Commonwealth countries.
The CSFP was established at the first Commonwealth education conference in 1959 and is reviewed by education ministers at their triennial meetings. The CSFP is the only scholarship scheme in the world to receive such high-level recognition.
As part of the CSFP programme, New Zealand offers New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships to candidates from developing Commonwealth countries for postgraduate study (Masters and PhD) in New Zealand universities on a contestable basis. New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships are highly competitive and for top level graduates.
New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships are funded by the New Zealand Aid Programme and managed and managed by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (MFAT). The selection process in New Zealand is managed by Universities New Zealand.
Find out more about New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships (external link)
Each Commonwealth government has designated a national agency for the operation of Commonwealth Scholarships.
Contact the national agency in your home country for more information

Eligible Commonwealth countries
Region/Country Priority Sectors
Africa Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia
Caribbean Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines
Asia Bangladesh, India, Malaysia, Maldives, Pakistan, Sri Lanka
Pacific Cook Islands, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu
Closing dates
The closing date for New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships is determined by each country’s Nominating Agency. Please contact your local Nominating Agency [PDF, 90 KB].

Qualification types
New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships are available for the following postgraduate qualifications:
Masters Degree (1 – 2 years)
PhD (up to 3.5 years)

Candidates must meet all the scholarship eligibility criteria including:
– Be a minimum of 18 years of age at the time of commencing your scholarship.
– Be a citizen of the country from which you are applying for a scholarship and have resided in that country for at least the last two years.
– Agree to return to your home country for a minimum of two years on completion of the scholarship.

Preference will be given to candidates who demonstrate strong academic ability, leadership qualities, and a commitment to the development of their home country.
Preference is also given to candidates who are 39 years of age or younger at the time of commencing their scholarship.
Preference will be given to candidates who apply to study in academic disciplines relating to priority sectors.

For more information click HERE

Leave a Reply