Global Development Awards Competition 2016 for Researchers from Developing countries

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

The Global Development Awards Competition is an innovative award scheme launched by GDN with the generous support from the Ministry of Finance, Government of Japan. The Awards Competition recognizes excellence in policy-oriented research, supports research capacity development of researchers in developing countries and funds innovative social development projects benefiting marginalized groups in the developing world. Since its inception in 2000, GDN has provided US$ 3.8 million in awards and travel grants to finalists and winners.The winners of the current round will be chosen by an eminent jury at GDN’s 17th Annual Global Development Conference to be held in Peru from 17-18 March, 2016; an event expected to be attended by over 200 practitioners in the field of development where finalists will present their proposals. Finalists from both award categories will be invited to present their proposals at the Conference.

Competition Categories – The competition is accepting submissions in two categories:
Category 1: Japanese Award for Outstanding Research on Development (ORD)The Japanese Award for Outstanding Research on Development (ORD) is a competitive research grant program that identifies and funds outstanding research proposals submitted by researchers from developing countries and transition economies that have a high potential for excellence in research and clear policy implications for addressing development issues in any of the four research sub-themes.
First Prize: US$ 30,000;
Second Prize: US$ 10,000;
Third Prize: US$ 5,000
Research Proposals for the Award will be considered in following four sub-themes:
Educating and Developing Skills for the FutureFinancing Quality EducationPedagogy and Aids to EducationEducational Policy and Research
Eligibility Criteria:-
-Eligible countries for the ORD competition are those classified as low-income or middle-income countries.
-Open only to researchers who are nationals of an eligible country
-Open to citizens of eligible countries who are temporarily based in a non-eligible country but not for more than five years as of 15 January, 2016
-The upper age limit for all applicants is 45 years as of 15 January, 2016
-Staff members of multilateral and bilateral organizations are NOT eligible to applyPrevious and current employees of GDN or its RNPs are NOT eligible to apply up till 5 years from the completion of their tenure. Previous GDN Board Members, project mentors and members of evaluation teams are NOT eligible to apply.
Similar proposals or papers resulting as products from full or partial GDN funded activities cannot be submitted for this competition
Past ORD winners and finalists are not eligible to apply with the same or similar research proposal. Winners are not eligible to apply for a period of 3 years subsequent to their submission of a successful proposal
Past and current AMC reviewers are not eligible to take part in the competition.

Category 2: Japanese Award for Most Innovative Development Project (MIDP)The Japanese Award for Most Innovative Development Project is a competitive grant program that provides grants worth US$ 45,000 to Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) located in developing countries to help scale up their innovative projects*. The grants are awarded to projects that are supporting improved service delivery, in particular, innovative approaches that meet certain set criteria. The Award targets projects currently at the stage of implementation, and which have a high potential for impact targeting exceptionally marginalized and disadvantaged groups located in developing and transition countries. Proposals are not based on a particular theme.
First Prize: US$ 30,000;
Second Prize: US$ 10,000;
Third Prize: US$ 5,000*
The first prize winner is also eligible to compete under the Japan Social Development Fund for an additional grant of up to US$ 200,000 for their work.
Eligibility Criteria:
-The MIDP Award is open to all development projects being implemented in low-income countries and lower-middle-income countries.
-The project must be managed by a Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) with its headquarters in one of the above eligible countries.
-The project implementation must have started before 01 January, 2015.Submissions concerning a recently started project or only a project idea or a feasibility or baseline study will not be considered.
Submissions for funding conferences and seminars (either in part or in full) will not be considered.Applicants from previous years (except winners) may re-apply, but they must update the application to include new aspects of the project.Previous MIDP winners are not eligible to apply.APPLICATION DEADLINE: 15 January, 2016 
For more information visit

Leave a Reply