International Poetry Competition 2016

posted in: Competition | 0

The Oxford Brookes Poetry Centre is delighted to launch its 2016 International Poetry Competition to celebrate the power of poetry across the world!

There are two stages to entering the competition

1) Please visit the Brookes Shop and click on ‘Book Event’. Then you can register as a new customer and pay for your entry/entries.

2) Once you have paid, please e-mail your poems as separate attachments to You will receive an automatic e-mail in response, confirming that we have received your poem/s.

Please note that there is no entry form for this competition. We will match the details you submit via the Shop with your e-mailed poems. You can find further details about entering below.

This year’s judge is Daljit Nagra , the first poet to win the Forward Prize for both his first collection of poetry, Look, We Have Coming to Dover!, in 2007, and for its title poem in 2004. He is also the author of Tippoo Sultan’s Incredible White-Man-Eating Tiger Toy-Machine!!! (2011) and Ramayana: A Retelling (2013). Shortlisted for numerous prizes, including the T.S. Eliot Prize (in 2012 and 2014), Daljit was also selected as a ‘New Generation Poet’ by the Poetry Book Society in 2014 and is Radio 4’s first ever Poet-in-Residence from October 2015-October 2017.

The competition is open to both new and established poets aged 18 and over from across the globe, and has two categories:

ESL category (open to all poets over 18 years of age who write in English as a second language
Open category (open to all poets over 18 years of age).

For more information click on the link below

Leave a Reply